Videos and me…

When we were given the course outline several weeks back and I saw the module on videos, my reaction was not what you’d call positive.  More like dread.  I like to write…but a video?  Well, much to my surprise, I do like making videos.  Why?  The process is similar to writing.  And no, I’m not just talking about the writing of a script.  It’s the whole process: the creativity involved, the expression, the sharing of a message that hits a bit deeper when it is seen and heard.  It takes the written word to a different level.  A level, this bookworm never really valued before.

I love reading.  I love the feel of the pages, the smell of the paper..but I know I’m a dying breed.  E-books and audiobooks are becoming more and more the norm:

      • In the 2007 article Why are Audiobooks so Popular Today? it states:  Today it is estimated that audio book sales in the United States is over $2 Billion Dollars a year.
      • In the 2012 article  7 Reasons Why Your Book Should Also Be an Audiobook: Reason #5: Audio Books Give You Access to Non-Readers…there are millions of people in the world who hate reading, but love listening.  Reason#6: Having an Audiobook Makes You Easier to Find…there are over 100,000 books on Audible. There are millions of books on Amazon. I can’t think of an easier way to break your book out of the crowd than to turn it into an audiobook.
      • And then there is Kabani’s book that takes the concept of audiobooks into the realm of video: …the vast majority of people, when given the choice, prefer to watch rather than read….on average, Americans aged 15 to 24 spend almost two hours a day watching TV, and only seven minutes of their daily leisure time on reading.  And you can bet that web video is only further fueling this difference in time spent watching versus reading across all age groups.

Okay.  So what does this mean for me, as a wannabe writer?  It means I may need to embrace the idea of using videos.

So here’s my attempt at embracing videos.  The rest of my thoughts on how to integrate video into my new life as a writer….you guessed it….will be in video format.  It also gives me a chance to try out Xtranormal.  So here are my final thoughts in a brief video:

This entry was posted in YouTube. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Videos and me…

  1. Lori Smith, M.Ed. says:

    You have inspired me to now create a Stikz move using the Xtranormal video format. The voices flow nicely and easily without being jerky and robotic. Glad that you are finding your niche in writing with video, video books, and eventually “video marketing her work as a writer.” Your research on audiobooks also inspires me dig more deeply into this work. Your blog is so informative, and I appreciate all the work you are doing here. By the way, 46 is the new young! Glad that you are on and enjoying the path! Blessings!

    • Thanks Lori. My classmates’ videos inspired me to play with Xtranormal and now I’ve passed it on to you. Full circle (smile).

      Despite what the Stikz kids said, I’m still not sure what my niche is. I’m trying to remain open to all possibilities and hope that inspiration will come. I’ve enjoyed digging around for information for each blog – its helping me to see what the possibilities are within social media. A bit overwhelming…but I do believe there is something in here for me…somewhere. Just have to be patient and find it – or have it find me. 🙂

  2. floorartist says:

    Loved this! Good idea to discuss the usefulness of video in a video. Brilliant! A video book? Never heard of such a beast. Gone to check this it. 46 is old? Oh no!

    • Nah…46 isn’t old. It just made me laugh making the little kid voices say it…especially since I know little kids think 46 is ancient. But now that I’m there…its definitely NOT old!! – smile.

Would love to hear what you're thinking - please leave a reply

