I want off the YouTube Rollercoaster…

This “create a YouTube video” has been a rollercoaster.  Ups and downs.  Ups and downs.  I was so excited, thinking I’d be able to do something with animation.  Movement.  Power.  Remember the Social Media Revolution 2012 video we watched the first week?  Or Evolution Web 1.0, Web 2.0 to Web 3.0?   I had it all figured out in my head.  I knew the topic I wanted (spoiler alert:  What is your Intent for Today?) and could even visualize how it would look.  I was just motoring up the rollercoaster, getting higher and higher, so filled with ideas.

But I couldn’t figure out how to do it.  Do I not have the software?  Or am I’m lacking the know-how?  And the Camtasia tutorials?   Do they think I’m Steven Spielberg?!?  Sigh…after several hours searching the internet, I decided I’d have to scale down my idea.

Woooshhhh…down the rollercoaster I went.

Okay.  So I’ll do a creative Powerpoint presentation that I can upload to YouTube via Camtasia.  Not the boring ones to music that my Dad emails me (sorry Dad).   No, mine will still have the impact I want.  Meaning.  Something attention-grabbing so the video pulls you in to the message.  A message that makes you think.  Shouldn’t be too hard.  At least this part of the Camtasia tutorial made sense to me. Just have to figure out how to get the “Wow” I’m looking for.  So, off I go again exploring the internet, looking for ideas on how to make a Powerpoint presentation spectacular.  Found some interesting links that enabled me to customize some pictures.  Looked through myriads of posts on www.intent.com until I found the ones I wanted.  More pictures.  Scripted it out so it had a bit of the “Wham” factor I was looking for. 

Back up the rollercoaster I go.  Getting excited again.  Maybe I can still make this work?

Okay…now to add two tracks of sound: my voice plus a bit of background music.  Okay.  Back to the internet to figure it out.  Almost there.

Am I going to “whoosh” down the rollercoaster again?   Or…will this work?  Stay tuned…almost done.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized, YouTube. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I want off the YouTube Rollercoaster…

  1. bbray says:

    Totally understand where you’re coming from. Thanks for sharing the roller coaster ride. Brougt back some memories for me.

    Same thing happened to me when I was starting out doing a few elearning contracts. One faculty member wanted an intro with ‘impact’ and wanted it to look like Hans Rosling’s video on population growth. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jbkSRLYSojo

    Could I do it?

    Sure, I said with only a little bit of temerity. I knew it would take some time but I could figure it out. But, after a roller-coaster ride like you’ve been having, I had to admit that I wasn’t quite there yet. So we settled on re-defining what “impact’ meant and came up with a great video using some custom figures from Extranormal.

    You’ll get there, and I bet your video will be super!

    • I finished it…and at this point, I’m just thrilled that its done!!! One of these days, I’ll figure out how to do the amazing ones…but for now…I’m content to bask in the glow of having it done!

Would love to hear what you're thinking - please leave a reply

