Better you than me..

That’s how I feel about podcasts.  I’m thrilled that there are people out there creating and publishing podcasts so that we can all listen to them.  Thrilled and grateful.  Because if you’re doing it…than that means I don’t have to.

Let me explain.

I love the concept of podcasts.  Doing the research for my podcast was a lot of fun.  But the actually recording of it?  Nope.  I’m in love with the written word, not the spoken word.  Too many years of being a therapist – talking and listening.  I like the solitude of writing.  I like the freedom of spilling out words on the page, then going back and tweaking them, playing with them, switching them around…until they have a rhythm that I like.  But with a podcast?  It doesn’t feel natural.  Even scripted and read, it just takes the mystery of the words away.  Does that make sense?   They have a different tenor when they are spoken aloud.

But wait a minute.  What am I saying?

Words spoken aloud resonate in a different way.  And…sometimes they can be even more powerful.   Right now, I’m thinking back to an experience I had at a week-long yoga retreat.  On the last day we were asked to spend the day in silence and journal about our experience.  I remember sitting out on the deck and writing for over 2 hours straight.  Pages and pages poured out of me.  It was a profound, amazing experience.  But…when I think about it now, it wasn’t until I actually read it out loud (to myself), that I cried.  Hearing it, hit me at a different level.  And I’ve found this to be the case on several occasions now that I think about it.  Reading a story in Chicken Soup for the Soul and being so touched by it that I read it to my husband – and finding my voice crack with emotion as I read it aloud (much to my husband’s discomfort – smile).

So..the power of the spoken word.  I guess that’s what a podcast can capture.

Maybe I’ll need to get over my self-consciousness about my lisp and…maybe…try this again?

Hmmm…I think I’ll need to think this over a bit more.

This entry was posted in Podcasts. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Better you than me..

  1. I hear what you are saying. Reading and writing are becoming a dying art. We must keep it alive. Technology is good, but there is something to be said about the written word. Thanks for bringing this home to me. I am going to read a book today.

  2. I love to read. People who have the gift of manipulating words to create a visual image is amazing to me. I like to journal, but those are my thoughts that are deep to me and I don’t want to share always. As an instructor, I am talking all day. I have to find ways to change the inflection in my tone and phrases to emphasize the importance of items being taught. To me that is easier than writing. Thanks for keeping the visual in the words.

    • One of my gifts was my voice – my ability to connect through spoken word. But I over-used this gift…drained me to a point where, now, I much prefer the solitude of writing. Maybe someday I’ll be able to meld the two back together. But for now, I’m enjoying my love affair with the written word.

  3. petphotos95 says:

    I would rather write than record a talk as well. Perhaps it is just a matter of finding the point where sharing your written words isn’t enough and you want to share them in a different way.

  4. quinn71 says:

    Very much writing is a lost art and reading as well considering what twitter has become. Work in the public all day different type of work but I prefer to be creative through my writing. A book of poems is in the works; taking course for writing a novel. If our wonderful Internet were to crash (including cellphones) for an extended period of time I’m not sure how a lot of people would communicate effectively.

  5. I’m new to blogging (actually doing it for a class), so its great to know that someone beyond the class is reading what I write. Appreciate you taking the time to comment. Cheers.

  6. wendy0114 says:

    I have enjoyed both…. the writing, and then (after I got through the techno stuff) the podcasting. To me, they go hand in hand – because, like you, I find when the words are spoken (especially by the author), the words take on something that may not have been there before.

    • So true. I really noticed this when I listend to your podcast. The inflection in your voice, the pauses, the words you emphasized, the sound effects – it really brought your writing to life. Would I have liked it as much reading it in the magazine? Yes and no. Yes, because it’s beautifully written. No, beause I would not have had the same connection to the author as I did when I listened to you read it. It does make me rethink my aversion to doing podcasts. Guess I’ll have to take some lessons from you – smile.

  7. This blog,, as all of your blogs, really ‘jiggles’ my brain. I’m fascinated what it is that happens in our brain when we say words aloud vs reading them, that causes a connection to the emotional centers in our brain – intriguing neuroscience, or is it more? I’m thinking that it’s the SAYING of the words, more that the hearing of the words, that is powerful…..great research and book idea, PM.
    Thanks, again, for helping slow my aging process by making me use my brain.
    tg54

  8. Thank you for your comment. I’m new to blogging (doing it for a class), so its great to hear that someone out in the “real world” has found my blog and is enjoying it. Greatly appreciate you taking the time to comment. Cheers!

Would love to hear what you're thinking - please leave a reply

