Whew…podcasts done

Okay…this isn’t a picture of me but it captures how I’m feeling right now perfectly. I am so (soooooo) relieved to have my podcasts finished!  I definitely do not have a radio-host in my dying to come out.  Not in this lifetime.   Two seconds into the first podcast you’ll hear the lisp that comes out when I’m nervous (and is still there at 4:51 and rears its ugly head again in the second podcast – sigh).   My husband finds my nervous lisp endearing.  I’ll keep my fingers crossed that you do too. 🙂

When I initially scripted my first podcast, I found that it went well over the 3-5 minute mark.  Since the second part (spoiler alert!) was a visualization exercise, it made sense to do them as two distinct podcasts.  Bonus for me…I got them both over with!

If you’re interested in doing further reading, here are the two articles I read that inspired the podcasts:

So here they are.  The audio files won’t work in WordPress but if you click on the picture (or on the link in the show notes), it will take you to Podomatic where you can listen to your heart’s content:

First of two Peaceful Mind podcasts for wannabe writers. The theme of these two podcasts is an exploration into the right brain and left brain, as it pertains to writing.  In this first podcast, we’ll briefly look at some concepts around right brain and left brain. There won’t be a lot of science. The focus is more on how it relates to writing.

In this second podcast, you will be led on a visualization exercise. An exercise that will take you from left to right, right to left and taps into the power within you to flow freely between both, honoring the gifts that each side has to offer you, as a writer.

This entry was posted in Podcasts. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Whew…podcasts done

  1. wendy0114 says:

    Hi Diane, Beautiful job on the first podcast. I am, of course, intrigued with how to integrate the right and left brain – in my daily life. I find that it happens somewhat naturally, when I write. However, being left brain dominant gives me greater challenge when parenting. I continue to want to use language and logic (Left brain) to deal with emotion (right brain). Guess what – it doesn’t work!!
    Looking forward to doing the visualization when I have a quiet(er) place, I am out at Second Cup at the moment, while my daughter gets her hair done, next door.

    Namaste

    • Whew…thanks Wendy. I went out on a limb a bit with my podcasts. The topic resonated with me but I wasn’t sure if it would with others. Relieved to know that there is at least one other person out there who connected to it. My fingers are crossed that the visualization one works. I used to do visualization exercises with my clients, with really good results. Harder to do over a podcast when you can’t watch non-verbals for feedback. Don’t think I’ll do podcasts, but I would be curious to know how this one worked – hopefully some classmates will give feedback (hint! hint! – smile)

  2. zenoffun says:

    Very nice work on both podcasts. Both podcasts were a pleasure to listen to. I found that I had to listen to them twice to really get what you were saying as your speaking speed on the podcasts was a bit fast. I’m going to do the visualization exercise this evening! Thanks for the wonderful information.

    • Thanks for the feedback – when I listened to it (before I posted it) I realized I had spoken a bit too fast (but there was noooo way I was going to re-record it – lol). Combination of being nervous and trying to keep it within the 3-5 minute target (it goes by much quicker than I thought!). With practice, I imagine one gets a better sense of how much content can be put in a 5 minute podcast. Appreciate the feedback!

  3. HI Diane,
    It was a thoroughly nispiring experience listening to your second podcast. It was well articulated, easy to follow, but most of all, empowering. As I followed the visualizaton, I had enlightening revelations about my responses to the right/left brains – I want to LIVE in my imagination – what joy!
    I also appreciated your respectful consideration of your audience.
    It was an honour spending time with YOU.
    tg54

    • Whew….thank you so much (I mean SO MUCH) for the feedback. I wasn’t sure how the exercise would work via a podcast so was a bit hesitant to do it (but really wanted to do something that had meaning to me). I can now release the breathe I’ve been holding, knowing that it has been received well (and you found it empowering – just what I hoped for). Thank you for taking the time to post a comment – very, very much appreciated 🙂

  4. I have listened to your first podcast and thoroughly enjoyed it. If you hadn’t mentioned your lisp, I would not have noticed as you relaxed and owned it. 🙂
    I think from all my years of writing training material, I am a left side writer. Not as easy to write documentation and be creative. I am looking forward to seeing how I can change my left brain into a right brain writer with your next podcast. Excellent work!!

    • Glad to hear you enjoyed the podcast. And thank you for your kind words about my lisp. I figured if I came clean and told everyone about it first then I’d be able to relax more during the podcast. Sneaky of me 🙂

  5. Podcast 2 just as refreshing as the first. I was able to see the left side as somewhat dark, structured and the right was flowing like a daisy and grass in the wind. I much preferred the right side and thought how nice it would be to stay there. My writing seldom gets to travel to the right side of the brain, only in my journal. I can now see why I can spend hours writing in my journal and releasing all that needs to get out. Thanks again for 2 great podcasts – I personally hope you keep using podcasts for your writing as well as your blog.

  6. scifitechgirl says:

    Greatly enjoyed the visualization exercise, but had to laugh when I was visualizing the opposite side that you had directed (I admit, I am directionally challenged!) The visualization worked incredibly well on the podcast.

    • Thanks for the feedback. Good to know that it works for the “directionally challenged” too 🙂 (which I am one of – how many times has my husband said “no, your other right” – lol)

      • Lori Smith, M.Ed. says:

        I so understand about that. I used to receive the same comments years ago. I figured out a strategy to overcome it by touching my thumb to my index finger to indicate my right hand and then picture which was left or right. It has been working so well that I don’t use the technique anymore! P.S. I love your whole blog, you have customized it very well.

      • scifitechgirl says:

        There seem to be many of us that are directionally challenged. We are in good company.

  7. Deana Stagg says:

    WOW!!! Powerful for me. I struggle as I am almost always in my Right side. I have a friend who is almost always in the Left. Maybe we will do this exercise together. Great job!!!

  8. Deana Stagg says:

    I want to ask you something. Something interesting happened to me while doing this visualization exercise. When you said to visualize our left side I actually felt anxiety. Is this normal? I have done many personality type tests over the years. I always found that I was a highly creative person. I know my left side works because I have managed to survive university and raise children but I find comfort in my right.

    • From my experience, it is normal – visualization exercises can stir up emotions. If you’re not as connected to your left (don’t live there as much, feel blocked, are more comfortable in the right, etc.) than you might feel anxious or have reservations. I can feel that way sometimes trying to go into my right side – sometimes I can go in easily, other times I can’t. It’s interesting how our brains work, isn’t it!

Would love to hear what you're thinking - please leave a reply

