Linking…out

As of November 2012, LinkedIn announced they had 187 million members.  As of now, I’m one of them.  But will I be for much longer?  I can’t say for sure.  If you’ve checked out my profile on LinkedIn you might have noticed that it’s…well…rather bare.  No job history.  Not much of anything besides my name (my fictitious one) and my education.  Why?  For two basic reasons:

I‘m in career transition.  I’ve taken a year off to explore writing.  So what is the point of LinkedIn for someone like me?  Wikipedia describes it as a “social networking website for people in professional occupations.”  I’m neither in a professional occupation nor am I in a position to network…so it’s not the place for me right now.

Okay.  Let’s fast forward and assume that I’m now a professional writer who does want to network.  Would I opt back in to LinkedIn?  That brings me to point number 2 (and here you thought I had forgotten).

I’m not quite sure I want to share detailed information about my job history via social media.  Call me paranoid but it doesn’t feel safe enough…and the rewards don’t seem big enough to take the risk:

Millions of LinkedIn passwords hacked.  Boston Business Journal.  Wednesday June 6, 2012.  – Nearly 6.5 million encrypted passwords have been compromised, reportedly belonging to user accounts on LinkedIn (NYSE: LNKD). If the reports are true, hackers are likely looking for personal information to aid in identity theft…..

Linkedin linking you to identity theft.  Monday March 19, 2012.  East Providence, R.I. (WPRI) – LinkedIn is meant to be used as a professional networking tool, but a new report reveals it’s putting its users at greater risk for identity theft than some other social networking sites….

Linked Out. January 19, 2012 – I was in a meeting recently, and a fellow HR Professional who is in a talent management role told me she was “LinkedOut”….I asked her what she meant by being “LinkedOut”. She indicated that she wanted nothing to do with the burden of helping people she did not know with finding employment at her company. When I told her that the original golden rule of LinkedIn was to directly connect only with people you know, she said, “Well guess what, no one does that any more. Moreover, it got to the point where dozens of people a day that I did not know were asking me to connect with them, and then whenever I did, their first request was for me to help them find a job. It was a complete waste of my time. I had enough, and I’m out.”

Yes, I’ve read Kabani’s chapter on LinkedIn and I do see the benefits…in theory.  I’m just not sure I want to go there.   So for now, I’m linking out.

This entry was posted in LinkedIn. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Linking…out

  1. Sandi McNeill says:

    Enjoyed your post very much.

  2. Thanks for your comment Sandi. Was starting to wonder if anyone read my last two posts. Have a feeling that classmates are struggling to keep up with all the reading. It’s definitely been a challenge reading all of them!

  3. zenoffun says:

    I could say that I’m in the same boat as you. I’m in career transition too (which I wrote about in my blog) so my profile on LinkedIn is nothing to write home about. I’m wondering how to best use LinkedIn for the future or if I will even use it all if there are so many other social media options to choose froml….

    • Well, if you find a way to use LinkedIn…let me know. I’m not completely closed-minded about it (teeny crack is still open – smile)…but at this point, I’m definitely leaning towards other social media options.

  4. Pingback: Will I use Facebook and LinkedIn? | Peacefulmind307

Would love to hear what you're thinking - please leave a reply

