My first blog step

Okay…here goes…entering into the world of blogging.  Taking those first few tentative steps.  Not really sure what I’m doing right now but have to start somehwere.  Where will this journey into blogging and tweeting take me?  I’m not sure right now.  I know I have been curious about blogging for a while, thinking it could be a potential avenue for writing, but I didn’t know how to get started.  Now…I’m getting started (smile). It’s a bit overwhelming figuring it all out (how long have I been sitting at the computer for now?!?) but I’m going to remind myself to be patient with myself and trust that I’ll eventually get the hang of it.

Now…the next step is to figure out Twitter, since I am supposed to add my Twitter user name in the About page of my blog.  Before I sign off to do that though, I have one confession to make.  After reading the Twitter chapter in The Zen of Social Media Marketing, I realized that I didn’t have a clue what tweeting could be about.  I had thought it was mindless tweets about nothing in particular (and my reaction was “who cares!!!”) but I now realize that you can bring depth to what you tweet.  It can be meaningful.  It still seems like a lot of work….but now I’m thinking, it might just be worth it.  So….off to set up my Twitter account.

This entry was posted in How to Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to My first blog step

  1. wordsurround says:

    I love the photo, and feel that I too am walking in those steps on this path. (and yes, I thought Twitter was fluff; had no clue as to how powerful it is).

  2. I’m still trying to wrap my head around how to use Twitter effectively (and not fall into the trap of tweeting “fluff”). I’ve decided to follow Mayor Nenshi’s (https://twitter.com/nenshi) tweets to see how he does it (since I’m quite sure he’d be careful about what he tweets). So…here’s to both of us learning to be fluff-free. 🙂

  3. I love your Blog. It does lend itself to your user name of Peaceful Mind. Your two steps in the snow were very apt for the recent snow in Calgary and the fact that you are taking your tentative steps. Good job.

  4. helenzen says:

    I really like your idea of following someone like Mayor Nenshi’s tweet to see how to leave tweets that are helpful or useful.

  5. bbray says:

    Loved your comment about thinking that all tweets were about fluff. Reminded me of the video Trouble With Twitter that shows a guy coming into work, sitting down and getting started with his computer – and tweeting about each step of the way. There are some folks like that. Hopefully none from adL310. 😉

  6. I hadn’t seen that video. Just checked it out. It’s hilarious. I just tweeted a link to the rest of the class (and said I got it from you). Thank you for helping me put a check mark beside “Essential Tweet: Tweet information from your colleagues blogs” (hopefully it qualifies). 🙂

  7. Thanks! Great to hear that I’ve reached the “real world” 🙂

Would love to hear what you're thinking - please leave a reply

